h1

Advice from record label President – “try harder!”

March 6, 2012

A few months back I found myself at a very small dinner with the label President who signed and worked with artists ranging from John Mayer and Katy Perry to an A&R Executive who worked at the #1 publishing company in the world. I had to pinch myself, not just as the company I was in, but at how few of us were at dinner.

Anyhow, it was a small group, just 4 of us and a few others joined later.

What’s funny though is, if you talk to record label Presidents, they say the funniest things.

Another time a label President and I were talking about other things. And the subject of dating came up.

I was lamenting to him that I was single and that I had tried one dating service three different times.

Frustrated, I was just over it.

His response surprised me.

He said, “Why not try it a 4th time? Maybe that’s the time that it will work!”

And there, my friends, is the explanation for why he is President of a major record company and you and I are not.

TRY HARDER.

TRY AGAIN.

Maybe if we embrace that attitude we’ll be as successful as him one day!

(Please feel free to forward this email and this email alone to members of your band or other artists you know. But please do not post it on a web site or blog without asking permission from the author. Thanks!)

Copyright @2012. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without author’s prior consent.

Jennifer Yeko
True Talent Management ~ True Talent PR

9663 Santa Monica Blvd. # 320

Beverly Hills, CA 90210
http://www.truetalentmgmt.com

http://www.truetalentmgmt.wordpress.com – Read my music blog for advice on making it in the music business

2 comments

  1. loved it.
    In my experience, the only thing that shouldn’t be repeated (and often still is) are bands that think it’s original to pose against a brick wall.
    Everything else though, rinse and repeat!


  2. Interesting points.

    However, you gotta think though that parent managers only reach a certain level before they have to get help. The example you made of Jessica Simpson; Joe shopped around town to find a manager after she got to a certain point. That’s usually what happens. You can usually trust family to keep from stealing and they are pretty dedicated, but they don’t know what they are doing and often put emotion into it, rather than experience and an outside perspective.



Leave a Reply

