h1

Do you believe in fairy tales?

February 7, 2012

One of my industry friends wrote this email a while back in response to an email I wrote titled “I’m poor” “I am broke” “I Don’t Have Any Money!”

****

“Oh man do I hear this every day!

I think a big part of it is – I swear – that artists more than anyone have Cinderella syndrome.

‘I am going to get all dressed up for the ball (record music) and I am going to be so resplendent in my finery (my musical genius) that Prince Charming (A&R guy) is going to shower me with jewels and happily ever after (cash and a 3 album deal).’

Yeah sure! And A&R guy is going to ignore all those other bands and artists that have pooled their funds, work extra gigs and jobs to pay for marketing, found sponsors, got savvy about the business in general and really committed to it.

The answer I often hear is that a great artist shouldn’t have to pay their way in.

My answer is: it’s a competition, and you aren’t even at the starting line.

My other answer is, my friend is a genius at math, but he was still required to go to college, write and prove his theories, compete, and work his way up the academia food chain before he received a professorship. The nerve! It should have just been handed to him on a platter because he’s a genius. Right? 

Oh right. I forgot. The music business is different. It’s the one that hands out millions to untested and untried talent based on a gut feeling and the flawless aural training of its execs. 

Uh huh. 

And Lana Turner was discovered at Schwabs and Van Halen was discovered in a bowling alley in the valley. 

Legendary tales that keep us fantasy lovers buying movie and concert tickets – which is fine as long as you leave the fantasy at the door when you are pursuing a career and stop expecting handouts and miracles.

It takes work and knowledge and work and connections and work and determination and work to make it in this business – just like any other. And when you are starting a business, you have to invest both time and money into it.

Times ARE tough right now so really, I don’t expect jobless people to fork over thousands in promotions they don’t have, but to drop the less expensive opportunities like what Jen offers is patently ridiculous. It’s what she offers that makes an artist savvy and aware of what they should be working toward so they can prioritize and make goals, so later, when times aren’t so tough, an artist can put their hard earned promotional dollars into the right hands.

Nothing worthwhile is free. Really.”

-Leanne

(Please feel free to forward this email and this email alone to members of your band or other artists you know. But please do not post it on a web site or blog without asking permission from the author. Thanks!)

Copyright @2012. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without author’s prior consent.

Jennifer Yeko
True Talent Management ~ True Talent PR

9663 Santa Monica Blvd. # 320

Beverly Hills, CA 90210
http://www.truetalentmgmt.com

http://www.truetalentmgmt.wordpress.com – Read my music blog for advice on making it in the music business

Leave a Reply

