h1

A quote I love & a great story about a movie being made & can you answer this question?

September 16, 2011

‎”If you really want to do something, you’ll find a way. If you don’t, you’ll find an excuse.” – Jim Rohn

I just love this quote! Because every day I receive emails from 2 kinds of artists:

1) The artists that complain they have “no money” and can’t be successful – yet they want someone (like me) to work for them for free. Ha ha!

2) The artists that somehow figure out a way to get money to make a CD. And not just to record a CD – but to market and promote it.

After all, if a tree falls in the forest and there’s no one to hear it, I’d argue that it doesn’t make a sound.

Likewise, I would argue that if a great CD is made and the artist didn’t put any money aside to promote it, it will make no sound. No impact.

The choice is yours.

Choose wisely!

****

And, if that doesn’t make enough of an impact, how about a story?

I have two friends that are screenwriters (well, one is more a friend of a friend…but you’ll see my point shortly…)

They’ve both been at it a staggering amount of time – 10 years. Yes, 10 years and nothing has happened….well….

One entered a bunch of online screenwriting contests. He won one. His movie is now being made into a feature film called “Snow White and the Huntsman”. He made $3 million dollars (from that and another script he sold). All because of one contest he entered. His movie is starring Kristen Stewart (of “Twilight” fame) and Charlize Theron.

I told my other friend about this and told her she too should enter contests like the one he entered. I even sent her a link to the contest that he entered and that got him the $3 million dollars. She said, “I can’t afford it.” I think one of the contests was expensive, like $500, and sure, that’s a lot of money these days. Yet, she spends that same money on trips home or vacations or other things she finds “important” but she won’t put a few hundred dollars into something that WORKED for my friend because she “doesn’t have the money.”

My 1st friend will no doubt continue to make millions selling his scripts.

Sadly, my other friend will probably never sell anything.

Not because she isn’t talented. But because 1) she won’t put her money where her mouth is 2) she won’t even try something that is guaranteed to work.

Why would someone sabotage their career like this?

I don’t know.

Maybe she doesn’t believe in herself enough. Or, maybe, deep down, she knows she doesn’t have “what it takes” to make it in this business. Either talent or drive. Or both.

I don’t know.

Now…

Which person do you aspire to be?

Jennifer Yeko
True Talent Management

9663 Santa Monica Blvd. # 320

Beverly Hills, CA 90210
http://www.truetalentmgmt.com

http://www.truetalentmgmt.wordpress.com – Read my music blog for advice on making it in the music business

Leave a Reply

