h1

Comments re: “I’m poor” “I am broke” “I don’t have any money” + the importance of an open mind!

November 18, 2009

This is an email I received from an artist in response to my article about artists complaining that they are “poor” “broke” or “don’t have any money” to promote their music.

He is, obviously, skeptical but there are some good points that come out from the email that I wanted to share with all of you!

Of course, the problem is, if you look for all the reasons why something WON’T work, it likely won’t. You won’t try new things.

Every successful artist I know is optimistic (not pessimistic), open-minded (not close-minded) and WILLING TO TRY NEW THINGS (instead of afraid to try new things because they ‘may not work’) because it might be thing #103 that is the thing that breaks your career wide open!

You’ll see my responses below.

The problem is, as I said before, if you constantly say to yourself, “Oh, woe is me, I have no money to live, to promote my music, etc” well while you’re busy whining and complaining, some other artist is out there working a full-time day gig + a side job and is still finding the time to tour and write songs and learn and handle the business aspect of their career.

So you have 2 choices – you can either sit on the sidelines and watch others pass you by.

Or you can get off your ass, stop complaining, and do what it takes to become more successful.

Which do you think will get you further in life?

And in your music career?

****

You definitely make a very compelling argument, and while I agree with your analysis generally speaking, I think there is one powerful element you haven’t addressed in your message.

For many of us the idea of spending that 10-20 dollars a month is still a risk

{Editor’s Note: Life is a risk. There are no guarantees. So much better to risk $20-50 a month than thousands, wouldn’t you agree? Every year I go to Vegas and am amazed at the thousands of people there spending hundreds if not thousands of dollars, gambling. Some might be professional poker players but most I assure you are just gambling for the fun of it. And to me, it’s far more rewarding to “gamble” on your music career than the slots at the Venetian. Besides, only by betting on yourself and your music career do you really stand a good chance at getting anywhere and even making that money back – and then some! Plus, if you won’t gamble on yourself, why should anyone else? Want a record or publishing deal? Great. Why should anyone sign you if you haven’t put any faith in yourself and your music and done everything you can to promote it?}

because so many refugee’s of the major label system (former A&R people etc.) have attempted to build rather flimsy businesses to capitalize on the seemingly endless supply of “I’m gonna make it one day” musicians.

{Editor’s Note: I wouldn’t say it’s major label folks but just general scammers that you have to beware of.}

This isn’t to suggest that this is what you are doing.

{Editor’s Note: Since everyone from major labels and publishers want to hire me, yeah, it’s hardly a scam. You should research my company or read my emails to know what I’ve been up to. Or even look at my company’s web site…}

I wouldn’t actually know that first hand. But for many of us who have been taken before, we don’t want to repeat that mistake. Our reluctance is born out of a developed mistrust, and the need to manage very few resources, as opposed to apathy or commercial stupidity.

{Editor’s Note: I just wrote an email about “do your research” before you hire any company. Ask for references. Google them. It’s good to be mistrustful, to a degree. But at a point, you run the risk of being so mistrustful that you miss out on opportunities. Like one producer/label on my list who signed up for the paid list and now his artist’s song is up for a major network pilot! You can’t win if you don’t play and by sitting on the sidelines you are missing out on numerous opportunities to pitch your music for major film and tv projects.}

I fully recognize this message functions to serve both means, to inspire musicians to quit whining about being broke (the starving artist tagline) and to drum up business, which I think is just as honorable.

{Editor’s Note: Thanks much!}

I just feel that to truly sell it to a few of the remaining hold-outs, we would need to have some kind of reassurance that truetalent is capable of helping out some of us artists who fall outside of the “California reality show” market.

{Editor’s Note: I’m not sure what this means except to say that if you write great songs and they are commercial in some respect and you sign up for the list, you have as good a shot as anyone at getting them placed. However, you also have to make music that fits what TV and film want. And it has to be good. No, I take that back. The songs have to be GREAT. Because the competition right now is fierce for getting placements – you are competing against every major label artist, publisher and artist on myspace every time you submit for an opportunity. So bring your talent, write songs, rewrite songs, pitch them a hundred, no a thousand times, and I guarantee you you will get them placed and become more successful.}

I’m not exactly sure what that would entail, but I’m sure you guys are smart enough to come up with something.

Anyhow, Keep up the Good Work.
Thomas

Jennifer Yeko
True Talent Management
9663 Santa Monica Blvd. # 320
Beverly Hills, CA 90210

~Artist Management~Music Licensing~Music Publicity
www.truetalentmgmt.com

“Anything worthwhile in life requires time, patience, and persistence.”
–Cheryl Richardson


Leave a Reply

