h1

“I’m poor” “I am broke” “I don’t have any money”

May 6, 2009

Do you ever find yourself saying any of these things to yourself?

Either out loud – or in your own head?

Well, not a day goes by that I don’t get an email from an artist saying something like “I’m poor” or “I’m broke” or “I don’t have any money” or “I don’t have even $5 or $10 or $20 to sign up for your list.”

Wow.

I sure hope no one out there literally has only $5 in their pocket!

Because by saying those things to yourself you are literally making yourself poor!

***

Let me tell you a little story.

I have a few friends.

They always claim to be poor or “broke”.

However, when my one friend wants to go out for a drink, he always comes up with the $10 or $20 to buy a couple cocktails. Why? Because that’s what’s important to him.

Another friend always claims she is poor or “broke” — but when it comes to buying make-up, she suddenly finds the money.

For another friend, it’s shoes.

***

My point is, sure, you can bitch and moan about not having any money.

And you can say that you don’t have any money to promote your music.

But really, it’s a lie.

Because we all have the money for things that are important to us.

If you say you have “no money” to promote your music, what you’re really saying is “promoting my music isn’t that important to me”.

Which is fine.

But then know you are making music purely for fun – as a hobby – and have no plan to ever make a living from it.

Now I wonder – why would you want to keep music as a hobby when you could earn a full-time living from it?

Hmmm.

***

If you’re an artist, guess what?

You have NO excuse for being poor or broke.

Why?

Because you’re an entrepreneur.

Only an entrepreneur would start with nothing, create something (songs), put them on a shiny silver round object with artwork and attempt to sell it!

You’re an artist, remember?

You’re creative!

You’re clever.

You can figure out a way to make more money.

Goodness, you just need to get online and sell CDs – or go out and play a gig and sell some CDs and merchandise.

But no, it’s easier to complain and moan how broke you are because you probably get sympathy or even worse, money, from your friends or family or people who take pity on you when you act poor.

Well, I’m not letting you play the victim anymore!

Because begging and pleading will only get you so far in life.

Successful people always have a positive attitude.

They don’t play the victim.

They “find a way”….

***

I am pretty outraged because I recentliy had an artist tell me she can’t afford to sign up for my paid list. And then she had the nerve to ask me if I would waive my fee? (Of course not, but she asked. Would you go into a friend’s restaurant and ask for a free meal? Maybe you would but that’s incredibly rude because that’s 1) their business and how they make their living 2) there are numerous costs associated with running a business.) Anyhow, meanwhile, I know this artist isn’t “poor” or “broke” – because she’s hired a friend of mine to do PR for her and he costs thousands of dollars. Or I see that she signs up to attend a music conference that costs hundreds of dollars. But $10-20 a month to promote her music where she could make thousands in return? Nope, she’s too “poor”.

I see artists going to SXSW which is $500-700 just for a badge let alone the cost of hotels and travel. Yet that same artist doesn’t have $10-20 a month to sign up for a paid email list to promote their music and actually make money?

How many of you have gone to SXSW and MADE money? Anyone? Bueller? Bueller?

Anyhow….

As an artist, you have to get real and analyze where you are spending your money.

And also, pay attention to – where you are making money?

For some acts, they do great live and selling tickets and CDs and merchandise at their shows.

For others, they may sit at home and write and record songs and license their music like crazy.

For others, they may start a side business selling funky t-shirts or accessories or something fashion oriented.

My point is…

I’ve done those music conferences. They are fun. Sure, going to Austin for SXSW for a week and playing a gig and partying it up is fun. It’s a mini-vacation.

But for most artists, and even myself, it’s a waste of money.

I haven’t made the money back I’ve spend on any of those events.
Sure, I had fun.

And sure, it’s a nice business write-off.

But staying here and licensing music — I’ve made more money than doing almost anything else in the music business.

***

So really, are you really broke? And poor?

Or do you just want to be?

Because I guarantee that if you keep telling yourself you have no money, you will have no money.

Why not try the opposite?

Instead of saying negative things to yourself, try saying to yourself, “Self – all I need to do is make $x of dollars, and then I can…1) go on tour 2) market my music 3) make merchandise 4) record another CD, etc.”

***

Are you just getting in your own way of being successful?

Do you spend money on things that can make your money back?

Like playing gigs?

Selling your CDs at those gigs?

And online?

And licensing your music?

And marketing it?

If you tell yourself you’re “poor” or “broke” I guarantee that you will be.

However, if you tell yourself “I’ll find the money somehow” I bet you will.

Which would you rather be?

Poor?

Or creative?

Which attitude will make you successful in life?

Something to think about, isn’t it?

Jennifer Yeko
True Talent Management
9663 Santa Monica Blvd. # 320
Beverly Hills, CA 90210

~Artist Management~Music Licensing~Music Publicity
www.truetalentmgmt.com

“Anything worthwhile in life requires time, patience, and persistence.”
–Cheryl Richardson


Leave a Reply

